Correction to ‘2015 to be Jeff Gordon’s last full season of Nascar Sprint Cup racing’

Alright I normally try not to make mistakes when I write, however sometime I do make a mistake or two. And I ust noticed that I made a mistake. I believe this to be the second mistake I’ve made since I started this blog.

Anyway, in my post about 2015 being Jeff Gordon’s last full season of Nascar Sprint Cup racing i had said that at the time his possible replacement would be 2013 Nascar Xfinity Series champion Chase Elliott.

The mistake is that Chase Elliott was in fact the 2014 Xfinity Series Champion (Formerly Nationwide Series) not 2013.  The 2013 Xfinity Series Champion was Richard Childress Racing’s Austin Dillon.

Also since my original post on this matter it has since been announced that Chase Elliott will indeed replace Jeff Gordon in Hendrick Motorsports fourth car. It has also been announced that the car will retain the number 24 instead of being renumbered at the insistance of Jeff Gordon himself.

There was talk that fans were hoping that Hendrick Motorsports would stop using the number 24 and that it would be retired. However the latter seems unlikley since NASCAR owns the numbers and leases them to the team, and NASCAR in the past has said that they will not retire numbers when Hall of Famer Richard Petty tried to self retire his famed number 43 when he finally climbed out of the drivers seat after the 1992 Nascar Sprint Cup (Formerly Winston Series) season; and when fans had wanted the number 3 retired after the death of legend and Hall of Famer Dale Earnhardt Sr was killed during the 2001 Daytona 500.